This is the end my friend…

I’m in Invercargill…
Officially more than 3000km…

In facts more than that because i’ve done some extra diversions…

Officially I still have something like 30km to reach Bluff, with 20km only along the highway without any pedestrian path never bicycle track… and all of this for… for what by the way?
Ho yeah … to take the famous finish picture of me under the yellow signs…

Up to know i was the kind of guy who do what he says, never give in, never give up until the very end. It’s what i’ve always done. But guess what…

I THINK I WILL NOT GO TO BLUFF

 

I don’t have to justify myself neither to anyone, nor to me. I will still tell you why because i want to share a particular feeling.

The most important when you have the project to go from point A to point B is not to reach point B… especially for the Te Araroa i think… the most important is all your way down to B. You don’t really care for the point B after 4 month and far more than 3000km or 3054km or whatever it is.

I did it. It’s is done… Since yesterday in Invercargill i keep telling about my adventure on the TA but i surprised myself speaking in the past tense… crazy…

Going to Bluff will not be enjoyable, it could event be dangerous along this highway. Nothing special to see or do in Bluff, no fan club, no commities to welcome me there… All the thing just to reach the offical thing and take this pictures under the yellow sign…

But what for? To prove me or to prove the world that I did it. I will prove nothing and I nothing to prove. I dont really care about this picture. I loved the last 4 months, every day, i love the peoples and the landscapes. I loved and love it. I know that tomorrow will be pouring rain. I don’t want to hitch-hike there just to take a picture. I don’t want to walk along the Highway under the rain or not just for a picture.

I know i did it. I’ve even done more than the official length…

So yes, i will do a crazy thing : I will not go to Bluff. I will stop here in Invercargill. The only thing important for me was my experience on the Te Araroa the last 4 month since Cape Reinga. 100 days today… that just perfect.

I proud of me. I feel alright with myself and with the trail.

So let’s say : I have crossed New Zealand on foot, over 3000km for an 100 days adventure.

10425128_443918875759731_6091785506830464213_n

And i would like to thank all people i ve met, all people following and supporting me since the beginning and up to the end. Thanks to all the people managing and/or promoting the trail. Thank to all  past, present and future trampers. So many thanks to my body and especially my legs to have carried me so far, for such a long time…

This this the end of this story…

This one only… because i have 3 weeks left before my plane in Auckland on 11th March… because i don’t want this travel to end (I don’t do the last section so it is not really over) I will not take a plane, nor a bus to the North Island… i will just Hitchhike and hit some road all back to the north… i still have the Tongariro crossing as a final glory… (i’ve walked 99 days up to now… that will be the 100th this way)… I will take my time to walk back to where i come from.

This is the end of this adventure…
But not the end of the story

3 thoughts on “This is the end my friend…

  1. I agree. Yellow markers are everywhere. They are not the end of your long way. You saw and learned a lot about you and other people. Remember it in the future. Enjoy Tongariro, its great.
    Realize what great thing youve done.

    Byby

    Monika & Ralf

  2. Go to the Bluff. I had some of the same feelings but it’s worth it. Not for the picture but for reaching the Southern tip of the mainland. Actually the final spot is the lookout over the southern ocean towards Stewart Island. Past that is the last 30 mins to the yellow sign,….and it is a nice walk. Just saying….

  3. Thanks for your updates..been fun to read. Enjoy the Crossing..if you make it to Taupo we can show you the local sights..travel safe . Shirley

Leave a Reply

